Budgeting? Me? Get outta here….

by

(This post is part of Allese’s (Community Manager at Wesabe) blog series detailing her journey into the real world of finance. You can also find Allese at Wisebread, a website about living large on a small budget, in their Forums. Stop by and check her out!!)

So, I’d be the first to tell you that I am really bad with money. In fact, I think I already did, if you missed my manifesto, check out my first Wheaties post ever. Regardless of the fact that I have spent the past year working at Wesabe, a company centered around frugality, intentional spending and investing for the future, I still don’t stick to a monthly budget. I certainly better understand my spending, but haven’t really made any dramatic changes to my spending habits. I am a classic spender with a capital S.  While this often makes me feel quite guilty and hypocritical, I am choosing to blog about it. Why? Because, I, yes, Allese, am representative of a much larger population of non-money managers that cringe when their bills show up in the mail and coil at the word budget.

Now, you can throw stones all you want and try to jam your very wise words of saving and budgeting wisdom down my throat. Trust me, I absolutely, one hundred percent, believe you. And, I am guessing if you got my fellow population of spenders to sit still for a few moments, they would too. But my point here is, if an open minded gal like me, working as the community manager for a money management company, can’t pin her bad habits down… think about how hard it must be for the rest of my people! For us lovers of the moment, happy go luckiers, managing your money comes about as easy as eleventh grade calculus… or perhaps better put for you financers, creative writing and art class.

That said, one thing I most certainly have learned from the Wesabe community is the importance of managing your money. In fact, I’ve got pretty good at talking all about it, so much so that I might even be able to title myself a personal finance dilettante. Thus was quite excited to see that Andrea of Queercents, is writing a series about how to turn Spenders into Savers. As I have seen many discussions in the Wesabe community popping up with the big… “Where to Start!” “How to Budget!” “What to do!” questions, I thought people might appreciate this.

I am going to try Andrea’s series and see if her steps would work for me. This may be challenging for as my situation is fine for where I am now (23, just graduated from college), but I realize that some good planning at this stage of my life will make a huge difference when I’m ready to buy a house, have kids, or retire and could also provide a soft landing for the unexpected. Most of all, I truly believe in what many of my fellow Wesabeans have said about managing your money, for example:

CharliePark says: “Budgeting isn’t about spending less on the stuff you want. Budgeting is about spending MORE on the stuff that matters.”

Justinwp says: To me a budget isn’t restrictive at all. Rather a budget allows me so many opportunities that wouldn’t be available otherwise.

Rebecca2Lexington says: For me, great happiness has come from living on less than I make, so that I can save for what I really want. It is not about being miserable or not enjoying life, it’s about thoroughly enjoying what I do buy because I did not have to borrow from a friend or put it on a credit card. I feel great joy in my small savings because it has allowed me to fully fund my son’s college education, provide for retirement and an emergency fund. When you are a saver, you can enjoy what you do buy, without the sting of debt. It’s all about priorities. While others might feel differently, I don’t mind. I drive a Mercedes, and it’s paid for!

So, join me and let’s give it a go!

Check me out on Wisebread, a website about living large on a small budget… I am their personal finance woman of the week! Bring on the questions… I will find some answers!

One Response to “Budgeting? Me? Get outta here….”

  1. Sara Says:

    It’s both refreshing and discouraging that even money managers have a hard time with budgeting their own money. I think it’s just so personal when it’s your own, which creates a whole other set of problems. Great post–it’s good to know we’re in it together.

Comments are closed.


