The Love In

by

I’m a fan of the guys at Trabian (OpenSourceCU). I like their sites, ethos, goals…everything. On January 31st they launched “Give With Us,” and completely knocked my socks off. Jim Bruene posted an excellent review here.

Trey posted a response to Jim’s review today – particularly responding to some of the challenges of making “Give With Us” a success, but I would have liked him to emphasize a little bit more on the opportunities for credit unions. Challenge: it only works if people at the credit union commit to it – deep down inside commit and make it part of how they understand their job and success at their job. I think that is asking a lot, but I also believe it offers a game changing shift: “Give With Us” is a way for credit unions to put themselves in the center of their member’s emotional and financial life. Seriously.

I’ll use myself as an example – I have wanted to volunteer for years. I’m really interested in the process of transitioning out of university and into professional life – especially for low income students who don’t have white collar family members to help. People’s desire to give back, engage or contribute to the community is persistent. The ability for credit unions to help realize those powerful emotions is a real opportunity. It connects the dots between the person, credit union and the community.

One of the features that I especially like about the product is the ability to create badges that you can put on other sites (for donations or information). I think it is very cool that they are using Web 2.0 tools for credit unions, and frankly, it is this process that will move Web 2.0 towards the mainstream.

Congratulations to the guys at Trabian for building such a cool product!

One Response to “The Love In”

  1. Trey Reeme Says:

    Jason, Your post made my morning.

    I’m going to focus an upcoming post on what you’ve suggested – and have already said more eloquently than I ever could: that “the ability for credit unions to help realize those powerful emotions is a real opportunity. It connects the dots between the person, credit union and the community.”

    That’s exactly what we’re going after. Just like you’re doing with Wesabe – it’s about adding value rather than “going viral.”

Comments are closed.


